Countdown to the event


The Luhmühlen history

Equestrian events for more than 60 years

Welcome to the captivating journey through the history of the Luhmühlen Horse Trials.

Luhmühlen Horse Trials, nestled in the picturesque countryside of Northern Germany, boast a rich history steeped in equestrian tradition and sporting excellence.


What started as a modest local event has blossomed into one of the most prestigious fixtures on the international eventing calendar. Since its inception, Luhmühlen has been a stage where horse and rider unite in a spectacular display of athleticism, grace, and partnership.


Luhmühlen began as a small-scale event primarily focused on promoting the sport of eventing and providing a platform for riders to showcase their skills. Over the years, it has grown exponentially in both size and significance, attracting top riders, trainers, and spectators from around the globe.


The cross-country course, build by Mike Etherington-Smith is a hallmark of the event, is renowned for its demanding beautifully designed tracks, which test the courage, skill, and partnership between horse and rider. With natural obstacles set amidst lush forests, rolling hills, and meandering waterways, the course offers a true test of athleticism and bravery.


Throughout its history, Luhmühlen has played host to numerous memorable moments and legendary performances. From Olympic champions to rising stars, the event has seen its fair share of triumphs and heartaches, each adding to the tapestry of its storied past.


In addition to its competitive significance, Luhmühlen holds a special place in the hearts of equestrian enthusiasts for its vibrant atmosphere. Whether it's cheering on their favorite riders, exploring the trade stands, or enjoying the local cuisine, visitors are treated to an unforgettable experience that celebrates the timeless bond between humans and horses.


With each passing year, new champions emerge, new records are set, and new memories are made. Yet, amidst the excitement and fervor, one thing remains constant: the enduring spirit of Luhmühlen, a testament to the timeless bond between horse and rider.


As Luhmühlen continues to evolve and adapt to the changing landscape of equestrian sport, one thing remains constant: its unwavering commitment to excellence and its enduring legacy as a cornerstone of the eventing community. With each passing year, it reaffirms its status as a true icon of the sport, inspiring generations of riders and spectators alike to dream, dare, and achieve greatness.

All winners of the last years

Luhmühlen 1958 - 2023
All Winners
Laura Collett (GBR)/London - CCI5*-L
Julia Krajewski/Ero de Cantraie - CCI4*-S/DM
Felix Vogg – Colero CCI5*-L /
Michael Jung – Highlighter CCI4*-S/DM
Mollie Summerland – Charly van ter Heiden CCI5*-L /
Michael Jung – fischerChipmunk FRH DM
Ingrid Klimke/SAP Asha P – CCI4*-S/DM
Ingrid Klimke/SAP Hale Bob OLD - EM
Julia Krajewski/Samourai du Thot - CCI4*-S/DM
Tim Price (NZL)/Ascona M - CCI5*-L
Jonelle Price – Faerie Dianimo CCI**** / Julia Krajewski – Samourai du Thot DM
Julia Krajewski – Samourai du Thot CCI**** / Bettina Hoy – Seigneur Medicott DM

ERA Hall of Fame

Marina Köhncke in Hall of Fame der Vielseitigkeit aufgenommen

Luhmühlen: Bettina Hoy und Leonidas II in die Hall of Fame aufgenommen

Neu in der Hall of Fame der Vielseitigkeit: Harry Klugmann und Hop and Skip

Hall of Fame 2016: Otto Ammermann und Volturno in "Hall of Fame" aufgenommen

Hall of Fame 2015: Karl Schultz und FRH Butts Leon in die ERA HALL OF FAME aufgenommen

Hall of Fame 2014: Rethemeier und Braxxi!


Hall of Fame 2012: Doppelolympiasieger 2008 in Hongkong Hinrich Romeike und Marius

Hall of Fame 2011: Dr. Matthias Baumann und die Holsteiner Stute Brilliante

Hall of Fame 2009: Claus Erhorn und dessen Olympiapferd Justyn Thyme

Hall of Fame 2008: Herbert Blöcker und sein Erfolgspferd Feine Dame

Hall of Fame 2007: Horst Karsten und Watermill Stream